180453_10150147635706913_1297349_n.jpg

Hi.

Welcome to my blog!

🎶Let’s talk about books, baby
Let’s talk about you and me
Let’s talk about all the good things
And the bad things that may be
Let’s talk about books🎶

Polaris Rising Review

Polaris Rising Review

Title: Polaris Rising (Consortium Rebellion, #1)
Author: Jessie Mihalik
Pages: 448
Publication Date: February 5, 2019
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Rating: ★★★★★
Blurb:

A space princess on the run and a notorious outlaw soldier become unlikely allies in this imaginative, sexy space opera adventure—the first in an exciting science fiction trilogy.

In the far distant future, the universe is officially ruled by the Royal Consortium, but the High Councillors, the heads of the three High Houses, wield the true power. As the fifth of six children, Ada von Hasenberg has no authority; her only value to her High House is as a pawn in a political marriage. When her father arranges for her to wed a noble from House Rockhurst, a man she neither wants nor loves, Ada seizes control of her own destiny. The spirited princess flees before the betrothal ceremony and disappears among the stars.

Ada eluded her father’s forces for two years, but now her luck has run out. To ensure she cannot escape again, the fiery princess is thrown into a prison cell with Marcus Loch. Known as the Devil of Fornax Zero, Loch is rumored to have killed his entire chain of command during the Fornax Rebellion, and the Consortium wants his head.

When the ship returning them to Earth is attacked by a battle cruiser from rival House Rockhurst, Ada realizes that if her jilted fiancé captures her, she’ll become a political prisoner and a liability to her House. Her only hope is to strike a deal with the dangerous fugitive: a fortune if he helps her escape.

But when you make a deal with an irresistibly attractive Devil, you may lose more than you bargained for . . .


Review:

Fans of Sherrilyn Kenyon’s The League series and Amanda Bouchet’s Endeavor series, boy, do I have a book for you! 

Polaris Rising was recommended to me by my friend over at Romantically Incline Reviews. And for whatever reason I kinda just let it sit for awhile. I have no idea why. It was ridiculously stupid of me! When I finally started reading- I could not read fast enough. No, literally, I had to remind myself to slow down because I kept missing details. I highlighted soooooo many passages and could probably make this review incredibly long by listing all of them...🤔 Ada’s wit, way of thinking, and humor were so on par with me that I had to keep myself from laughing out loud so much because I thought my boyfriend might start to think I was going insane. I also need to stop and mention the world-building! That in itself is fantastic! It was so in-depth and detailed! Bravo!

Ada is the best kind of female character- flawed, sarcastic, smart, and oh so wonderful! I kept checking to see how far along I was in the book because I did not want the book to end- I did not want to leave Ada! She is undoubtedly herself and does not bend to meet anyone else’s standards for herself. She knows who and what she is and she takes pride in that. I could probably just gush about her non-stop. She is the type of female I love to see in books! 

And Marcus! He falls right into that strong, silent type. He is not one to mince words or ask stupid questions. He gets to the point. He is just as smart, strong, and courages as Ada and he makes sure she knows it. He doesn’t try to stifle her, instead he pushes her to be herself and non one else. He wasn’t afraid to use her skill set and he trusted her to make the best decisions in a given situation. They worked together and were equals. Again, we need more men like him in books! 

And together…🎇🎇🎇!!!! They sure steamed up my glasses🤓

In all, this is a book you need to add to your TBR pile. This was the first book I’ve read by Mihalik but I guarantee it will not be the last. I’m eagerly awaiting the next book in this series. So eagerly awaiting! If you are a fan of sci-fi and/or romance, you will surely enjoy this wonderfully written story!


-Happy Reading! 

January 2019 Reading Wrap Up

January 2019 Reading Wrap Up

Just Call Me Maria!

Just Call Me Maria!