180453_10150147635706913_1297349_n.jpg

Hi.

Welcome to my blog!

🎶Let’s talk about books, baby
Let’s talk about you and me
Let’s talk about all the good things
And the bad things that may be
Let’s talk about books🎶

We Must Be Brave Review

We Must Be Brave Review

Title: We Must Be Brave
Author: Frances Liardet
Pages: 464
Publication Date: February 26, 2019
Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons
Rating: ★★★★
Blurb:  

Spanning the sweep of the twentieth century, We Must Be Brave explores the fierce love that we feel for our children and the power of that love to endure. Beyond distance, beyond time, beyond life itself.

One woman. One little girl. The war that changed everything.

December 1940. In the disorderly evacuation of Southampton, England, newly married Ellen Parr finds a small child asleep on the backseat of an empty bus. No one knows who little Pamela is.

Ellen professed not to want children with her older husband, and when she takes Pamela into her home and rapidly into her heart, she discovers that this is true: Ellen doesn't want children. She wants only Pamela. Three golden years pass as the Second World War rages on. Then one day Pamela is taken away, screaming. Ellen is no stranger to sorrow, but when she returns to the quiet village life she's long lived, she finds herself asking: In a world changed by war, is it fair to wish for an unchanged heart?

In the spirit of We Were the Lucky Ones and The Nightingale, here is a novel about courage and kindness, hardship and friendship, and the astonishing power of love. 


Review:

I read this book a while ago and totally forgot to review it! :o

I loved everything about this book. It was enchanting and enthralling and so emotional! I was so captured by this book I read it in a two sittings. It was just one of those books that captivates you with the way it’s written. It’s a beautiful and moving story that you just have to read and experience. 

As some of you may know, I have a huge weakness for historical fiction and this one checked all the boxes! Fans of Susan Meissner, Kristin Hannah, and Anthony Doerr will love this book. 


-Happy Reading! 

Crashed Out Review

Crashed Out Review

Nightcasher Review

Nightcasher Review